Nancy Pelosi Blocks Vote on Bill to Ban Taxpayer-Funded Abortions for the 55th Time

National   |   Steven Ertelt   |   Jul 28, 2021   |   9:22AM   |   Washington, DC

The count is now at 55 times over the last month. That’s how many times Speaker Nancy Pelosi and her Democrat colleagues in the House have blocked a request from Republicans on the House floor to have a vote on a bill to ban taxpayer-funding of abortions.

Three members of the House asked for a vote on the pro-life bill yesterday and each of them were denied the request by Pelosi and Democrats in the chair at her behest. Rep. John Rutherford (R-FL), Rep. Randy Feenstra (R-IA), and Rep. Ronny Jackson (R-TX) each tried to secure a vote on the bill but were denied.

Afterwards, Feensta complained about being blocked from voting on the bill.

Americans should not be forced to fork over tax dollars so defenseless babies can be murdered on their dime,” he said.

Click here to sign up for pro-life news alerts from


The bill would make the Hyde Amendment permanent law and protect taxpayers from being forced to fund the killing of unborn babies in abortions.

The Hyde Amendment, which has strong public support, prohibits taxpayer funding for elective abortions in Medicaid and other federal programs. Since 1976, it has saved an estimated 2.4 million babies’ lives, including about 60,000 each year, according to the Charlotte Lozier Institute.

Pro-abortion Democrats claim taxpayer-funded abortions are needed to help low-income women, but a Harvard/Politico poll found strong opposition to their plan among the very people who these politicians claim to want to help.

According to the poll, voters who make more than $75,000 were more supportive of forcing taxpayers to fund abortions (45 percent in favor), while those who make $25,000 or less were strongly against it (24 percent in favor).

Smith, the lead sponsor of the bill, quoted President Joe Biden who, up until his presidential campaign, was a supporter of the Hyde Amendment, too.

The Hyde Amendment “’protects both the woman & her unborn child… I have consistently (no fewer than 50 occasions) voted against federal funding for abortions. Those of us opposed to abortion should not be compelled to pay for them,’” Smith quoted.

He said unborn babies have been denied their rights for far too long.

“By reason of their age, dependency, maturity, convenience, fragility and unwantedness, unborn children have been denied justice,” Smith continued.

For decades, most Republican and Democrat lawmakers supported the Hyde Amendment as a regular part of the budget. However, Democrats recently abandoned the public on the issue and sided with the billion-dollar abortion industry in calling for forced taxpayer-funded abortions. Biden’s proposed 2022 budget specifically excludes the pro-life measure.

Research by Charlotte Lozier Institute associate scholar Dr. Michael New estimates the Hyde Amendment has saved about 2.4 million babies from abortions. Prior to the amendment, in the 1970s, Americans paid for about 300,000 unborn babies’ abortion deaths each year, according to a report from the Family Research Council.

The following is a list of all House members who have asked for unanimous consent to take up the bill:

Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA)
Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA)
Conference Chair Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)
Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD)
Rep. Michelle Fischbach (R-MN)
Rep. Kat Cammack (R-FL)
Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)
Rep. Ashley Hinson (R-IA)
Rep. Lisa McClain (R-MI)
Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS)
Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH)
Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)
Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)
Rep. Pete Stauber (R-MN)
Rep. Stephanie Bice (R-OK)
Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)
Rep. Bill Huizenga (R-MI)
Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX)
Rep. Ann Wagner (R-MO)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
Rep. Dan Bishop (R-NC)
Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA)
Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX)
Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-IN)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
Rep. Blake Moore (R-UT)
Rep. Debbie Lesko (R-AZ)
Rep. Scott Fitzgerald (R-WI)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA)
Rep. Dusty Johnson (R-SD)
Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX)
Rep. Diana Harshbarger (R-TN)
Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI)
Rep. Chris Jacobs (R-NY)
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)
Rep. John Rose (R-TN)
Rep. Kevin Hern (R-OK)
Rep. Ted Budd (R-NC)
Rep. Mike Johnson (R-LA)
Rep. Andrew Clyde (R-GA)
Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH)
Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX)
Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)
Rep. Scott Franklin (R-FL)
Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC)
Rep. Tracey Mann (R-KS)
Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR)
Rep. John Rutherford (R-FL)
Rep. Randy Feenstra (R-IA)
Rep. Ronny Jackson (R-TX)