Congress Confirms Electoral College for Joe Biden. 7 Senators, 121 House Members Vote No

National   |   Steven Ertelt   |   Jan 7, 2021   |   10:14AM   |   Washington, DC

In a late-night vote, Congress confirmed the Electoral College vote for pro-abortion Democrat presidential candidate Joe Biden. Members of the House and Senate resolved to complete the process of certifying the Electoral College after protests inside the Capitol building disrupted the process earlier in the day.

Vice President Mike Pence, presiding over the joint session, announced the tally, 306-232.

In a statement after the vote, President Donald Trump promised a peaceful transition of power to the pro-abortion president.

“Even though I totally disagree with the outcome of the election, and the facts bear me out, nevertheless there will be an orderly transition on January 20th. I have always said we would continue our fight to ensure that only legal votes were counted. While this represents the end of the greatest first term in presidential history, it’s only the beginning of our fight to Make America Great Again,” he said.

Click here to sign up for pro-life news alerts from

Before the vote, Republican lawmakers raised objects to election results from Arizona and Pennsylvania but planned objections other other states fizzled out after the aggressive protesting. House members raised objections to electoral votes in Georgia, Michigan, Nevada, and Wisconsin but their challenges could not be accepted by Vice President Mike Pence as they did not have the support from a senator to move forward.

Senator Ted Cruz of Texas and Rep. Paul Gosar of Arizona objected to the Arizona results while Senator Josh Hawley of Missouri and Rep. Scott Perry of Pennsylvania objected to the Pennsylvania results.

For the Arizona votes, the Senate overwhelmingly voted 93-6 against challenging the votes, while the House voted 303-121. Similarly, for Pennsylvania, the Senate voted 92-7 against the objection, while the House voted 282-138.

Here are the seven Republican senators who voted to sustain the objection to Pennsylvania:

  • Texas Sen. Ted Cruz
  • Missouri Sen. Josh Hawley
  • Wyoming Sen. Cynthia Lummis
  • Kansas Sen. Roger Marshall
  • Florida Sen. Rick Scott
  • Alabama Sen. Tommy Tuberville
  • Mississippi Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith

Here are the six Republican senators who voted to sustain the objection to Arizona:

Sen. Josh Hawley (R-MO)
Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)
Sen. Tommy Tuberville (R-AL)
Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
Sen. John Kennedy (R-LA)
Sen. Roger Marshall (R-KS)

Hyde-Smith voted in favor of rejecting Arizona’s electoral votes Wednesday evening and the Mississippi senator said “I, along with my constituents, are alarmed with the erosion of integrity of the electoral process.”

“The people I represent do not believe the presidential election was constitutional and cannot accept the Electoral College decision; therefore, I cannot in good conscience support certification,” she added.

A dozen or more Republican senators had said they would join House members in objecting but some backed out of the extensive protests inside the Capitol. But Senator Hawley was not one of them:

‘Violence is not how you achieve change,’ Hawley said. ‘And that’s why I submit to my colleagues that what we’re doing here tonight is actually very important. Because fo those who have concerns about the integrity of our elections … this is the appropriate means, this is the lawful place, where those objections and concerns should be heard.’

He said he hoped the Senate could address concerns ‘peacefully, without violence, without attacks, without bullets.’

Hawley then indicated that he might not file objections after the debate over Arizona was complete, bringing up the issues he had with Pennsylvania during his brief floor speech.

‘And so Mr President let me just say now, that briefly, in lieu of speaking about it later,  a word about Pennsylvania – this is a state that I have been focused on, objected to,’ Hawley said.

He then went on to complain that the state set-up ‘universal mail-in balloting.’

‘And did it irregardless of what the Pennsylvania Constitution says,’ Hawley said, using the improper word for regardless.

The senator then objected to how the Pennsylvania Supreme Court made its decision, holding up the law that allowed for enhanced mail-in voting during the coronavirus pandemic.

Kelly Loeffler of Georgia had originally planned to object but changed her mind, saying she could not “in good conscience” follow through on objecting to Biden’s presidency.

“When I arrived in Washington this morning, I fully intended to object to the certification of the electoral votes. However, the events that have transpired today have forced me to reconsider and I cannot now, in good conscience, object,” said Loeffler.

Like Loeffler, Sen. Jim Lankford, R-Okla., reconsidered his objections.

“While we disagree — and disagree strongly at times — we do not encourage what happened today, ever,” said Lankford. “We are headed toward certification of Joe Biden as [president of the United States] and we will work together.”

For the pro-life community and millions of pro-life Americans who voted for President Trump, the next battle begins to stand against Joe Biden and Kamala Harris’ radical pro-abortion agenda.