Iowa Planned Parenthood Closes Two More Clinics, 12 Closed in Two Years

State   |   Steven Ertelt   |   Jun 2, 2014   |   4:51PM   |   Des Moines, IA

The Planned Parenthood abortion business has closed two more clinics in the state of Iowa, bringing the total to 12 in the last two years. While not every Planned Parenthood location does surgical abortions or dispenses the dangerous mifepristone abortion drug, every center provides abortion referrals.

closedsignIowa Right to Life provided LifeNews with this update:

Breaking news! This afternoon we learned that the Planned Parenthood of the Heartland webcam abortion facilities in Red Oak and Creston, Iowa, will close on June 18,” IRTL executive director Jenifer Bowen told LifeNews. “In the past 2 years alone, we have seen TWELVE Iowa Planned Parenthoods close for good, many of which sold webcam abortions.  Fourteen locations will still remain after June 18, along with the Emma Goldman abortion facility in Iowa City.”

“We want to publicly thank the faithful Pro-Lifers who went out to the sidewalks in both Red Oak and Creston, in all kinds of weather, to offer women life-saving alternatives.  It’s in no small part due to their ongoing peaceful, prayerful presence these abortion facilities are shutting down,” Bowen said.

Click here to sign up for daily pro-life news alerts from

To ensure more closures and fewer abortions, here are pro-life candidates Iowa Right to Life has endorsed for Tuesday’s primary election:

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

Governor Terry Branstad

Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds


U.S Senate

Sam Clovis

Senator Joni Ernst

Matt Whitaker


U.S. Representative District 1

Rod Blum

Steve Rathje


U.S. Representative District 2

Mark Lofgren

Matthew Waldren


U.S. Representative District 3

Robert Cramer

Joe Grandanette

Matt Schultz

Monte Shaw

David Young

Senator Brad Zaun


U.S. Representative District 4

Congressman Steve King


State Senator

District 1:    Senator David Johnson

District 3:    Senator Bill Anderson

District 5:    Tim Kraayenbrink

District 7:    Senator Rick Bertrand

District 9:    Jason Schultz

District 11:  Art Hill

District 13:  Senator Julian Garrett

District 15:  Crystal Bruntz

District 19:  Senator Jack Whitver

District 23:  Jeremy Davis

District 25:  Senator Bill Dix

District 27:  Shawn Dietz AND Timothy Junker

District 29:  James Budde AND James Heavens

District 39:  Bob Anderson AND Royce Phillips

District 41:  Senator Mark Chelgren

District 47:  Senator Roby Smith


State Representative

District 1:    John Wills

District 2:    Rep. Megan Hess

District 3:    Rep. Daniel Huseman

District 4:    Rep. Dwayne Alons

District 5:    Rep. Chuck Soderberg

District 6:    Rep. Ron Jorgensen

District 7:    Rep. Tedd Gassman

District 10:  Mike Sexton

District 12:  Brian Best

District 15:  Troy Arthur AND John Blue

District 16:  Rep. Mary Ann Hanusa

District 17:  Rep. Matt Windschitl

District 18:  Steven Holt AND Dillon Malone

District 19:  Rep. Ralph Watts

District 20:  Rep. Clel Baudler

District 21:  Rep. Jack Drake

District 22:  Rep. Greg Forristall

District 23:  Rep. Mark Costello

District 24:  Rep. Cecil Dolecheck

District 25:  Rep. Stan Gustafson

District 26:  James Butler AND Eric Durbin

District 27:  Rep. Joel Fry 

District 28:  Rep. Greg Heartsill

District 29:  Patrick Payton

District 30:  Zach Nunn

District 37:  Rep. John Landon

District 38:  Rep. Kevin Koester

District 39:  Rep. Jake Highfill

District 43:  Rep. Chris Hagenow

District 47:  Rep. Chip Baltimore

District 54:  Rep. Linda Upmeyer

District 55:  Darrel Branhagen

District 57:  Ryan Kilburg

District 60:  Rep. Walt Rogers

District 63:  Rep. Sandy Salmon

District 64:  Craig Johnson

District 67:  Rep. Kraig Paulsen

District 68:  Ken Rizer

District 71:  Jane Jech

District 72:  Rep. Dean Fisher

District 75:  Rep. Dawn Pettengill

District 79:  Rep. Guy Vander Linden

District 80:  Rep. Larry Sheets

District 82:  Jeff Shipley

District 84:  Rep. David Heaton AND Ralph Holmstrom

District 91:  Mark Cisneros

District 92:  Ross Paustian

District 94:  Rep. Linda Miller

District 95:  Rep. Quentin Stanerson

District 96:  Rep. Lee Hein

District 97:  Norlin Mommsen