Nebraska Lawmakers May Propose Trigger Law Banning Abortions Post-Roe

State   |   Steven Ertelt   |   Dec 30, 2007   |   9:00AM   |   WASHINGTON, DC

Nebraska Lawmakers May Propose Trigger Law Banning Abortions Post-Roe

Email this article
Printer friendly page

by Steven Ertelt Editor
December 30,

Lincoln, NE ( — Nebraska could be the next state to debate a trigger law that would ban abortions in the state when the day comes that the Supreme Court finally overturns the landmark Roe v. Wade decision. Several states have either approved or considered such a law and an AP poll finds most Nebraska lawmakers would back it.

Sen. Phil Erdman of Bayard talked with the Associated Press about the measure and indicated he or another member of the state’s unicameral legislature may propose a ban in the upcoming legislative session.

A trigger law wouldn’t immediately ban abortions, but would have the state do so the day the nation’s high court reverses the 1973 decision allowing virtually unlimited abortions nationwide.

Erdman was one of 21 state legislators — a majority — to favor a trigger law in a poll AP conducted. Another six said they would oppose such a measure and three others want a
trigger law making sure abortion stays legal in Nebraska post-Roe.

Other states have recently approved trigger laws, including Louisiana and Mississippi.

In March, Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour pleased pro-life voters there by signing a bill that would prohibit abortions in the state should the Supreme Court ever overturn Roe v. Wade.

Under the trigger law, the only cases of abortion that would be allowed after Roe is reversed would be when the abortion directly threatens the life of the mother and in cases of rape.

In 2006, Louisiana Gov. Kathleen Blanco signed a trigger law for her state.

According to New York-based Center for Reproductive Rights, a pro-abortion law firm, twenty-one states would likely ban abortions if Roe is overturned and some of them have trigger laws in effect.

In the poll, Nebraska lawmakers supporting a ban included: Adams, Aguilar, Carlson, Christensen, Cornett, Dierks, Engel, Erdman, Flood, Friend, Fulton, Hansen, Harms, Kopplin, Langemeier, Lautenbaugh, Nelson, Pahls, Pedersen, Stuthman, and Wallman.

The six opposed included Ashford, Howard, Karpisek, Nantkes, Raikes and Rogert.

The rest were unsure or did not particiapte in the AP poll.

Related web sites:
Nebraska Legislature –
Nebraska Right to Life –